Auto Insurance Minimums for Ohio
When applying for a driver’s license or registering a car in Ohio, drivers must show proof of financial responsibility in the form of insurance. The legal requirement for motorists is in the amounts of $12,500 for bodily injury and $7,500 for property damage.
Without proof of insurance in Ohio, drivers who are caught will have their licenses suspended for 90 days during a first offense. A second offense will garner a suspended license for a year. For serial offenders severe measures will be taken with the state revoking both your license plates and your car’s registration. Reinstatement fees for such penalties range from $75 to $500. Because of these offenses you may be forced to get an auto insurance quote for a high-risk policy for a minimum amount of three months. These high-risk insurance policies are more expensive than if you would have purchased coverage in the first place.
So don’t get stuck paying more in a high-risk policy. Getting an auto insurance quote today may give you a cheaper policy than if you would get caught without coverage down the line.
Ohio DUI Law
Driving while under the influence in Ohio will result in mandatory jail time, as well as up to $1,000 in fines. These are harsh penalties for first offenses, and show that when it comes to drinking and driving, Ohio has a no tolerance policy. Multiple offense drivers may even lose their license for life.
The blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for driving in Ohio is 0.08%. If your blood limit is above this you may even face additional penalties. If you are arrested for driving under the influence, you will have your license suspended for 90 days, serve a mandatory 72 hours in jail if your BAC is above 0.08% and will pay between $350 and $1500 in fines. In some cases, you may have to enter a drinking and driving intervention program, which you must pay for out of pocket.
Ohio Teen Driving Laws/Auto Insurance Requirements
Because teen drivers account for the greatest number of automobile fatalities each year, Ohio has adopted the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program in hopes of teaching teens proper driving skills and safety measures at a young age.
The first step toward obtaining a license includes receiving a learner’s permit. In order to receive a permit, teens must be at least 15 1/2 years old. After receiving a permit, the teen must complete at least 24 hours of classroom instruction, 50 hours of driving (and ten hours of driving at night), and must have had the permit for at least six months. At 17, a teen may apply for a probationary license.
It is a crime to drive while drinking in Ohio, and teens with a BAC of 0.02% or more may receive a DUI, and their driving privileges will be suspended for six months.
Teens in Ohio must carry the minimum amount of insurance that is mandated by the state, although they are encouraged to carry more than the minimum amount. Students can keep their premiums lower with Good Student discounts and by completing a state approved driver course.